Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Charlie Brown's Sunflower

We've waited all summer for the sunflowers to grow and finally bloom. I think the other ones that haven't opened yet might be a little more "normal", but this one has won my heart. It's like Charlie Brown's Christmas Tree, only this is the summertime version. We're unsure what has caused it to grow so oddly, but this is the oddest one I have seen. This morning, the bees were just having a good old time doing their work on it.

We have been so fortunate to have had a "full house" at the Cottage and I am grateful to have had the strength and energy to keep up with the work. I have known so many summers where I lacked the motivation to do much of anything. Something about the sunshine that just lulls me. This has been a challenge worth doing. I'm tired and worn out tonight, but the Cottage is clean top to bottom and ready to be a cozy little getaway for our guests coming Monday. Tomorrow, we rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.