This Reeling Day

By kkaulakh

In love with a city

What you are in love with, what seizes your imagination, will affect everything. It will decide what gets you out of bed in the mornings, what you do with your evenings, how you spend your weekends, what you read, who you know, what breaks your heart, and what amazes you with joy and gratitude. Fall in love, stay in love, and it will decide everything.

Father Pedro Arrupe, 1907-1991
Spanish Priest, Doctor and Social Activist

I've only been in Buenos Aires for a day and a half. But I am in love.
I'm going to make this brief because I am exhausted but in two days' time, I've
toured Puerto Madero, an old port town with colorful quaint houses, grilled meat scented smoke, friendly stray dogs and handmade mate gourds. I've walked around San Telmo, seen a puppet show, and watched a little skit of Tango dancing. I've eaten ostrich, alligator, and llama. I've wandered around Plaza de Mayo and Palermo, and hung out at a couple bars. I've tried some delicious wines, figured out the exchange rate, and the schedule for The Beauty and The Beast musical. I've made some really good friends out of interesting characters sharing this experience with me and learned all sorts of history about the city.
I promise more in depth entries in the near future. I can't wait for what's next.
Tomorrow: school starts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.