This Reeling Day

By kkaulakh

Life works out

Introducing Gabriel and myself in a most unflattering picture. Gabe's an awesome buddy; informed and relaxed, and like most people I dig, funny and spastic.

I can't say I took any stunning photographs today but I'll at least share this silly one. My friend Raquel has been slipping me helpful photography tips, and what with my pictures coming out blurred lately, I asked her for some camera advice. She had us move around for a test-picture. This is the result, and needless to say, we haven't resolved the blur.

We started classes today. My Spanish is a bit advanced for the class I was placed into, but it's the nature of things to change and hopefully a challenge will find me.

***Now is the time to understand / That all your ideas of right and wrong / Were just a child's training wheels / To be laid aside / When you finally live / With veracity / And love. -Hafez, poet (1315-1390)***

At a different time in my life, I might have been bitter about the Spanish class, or become impatient with my classmates when they asked me to help and translate at the cellphone agency, an ordeal which seemed to last an eternity. But these days I'm only happy to help and offer what I can of myself. It's a selfish thing really, because it makes me feel good.

This summer I taught my mom yoga asanas that would help relieve her joint aches and strengthen her back after an injury she sustained in the last year. Her appreciation and willingness to learn was beyond gratifying.

It's nice to find out what you have to give.

Well it seems the exhaustion will never cease. I'm always on the go in this town! Today, my roommates, Alexa and Bekah, and I managed to convince ourselves we were lost when we were actually two blocks from home. The bittersweet maraschino cherry on top was that we ran into a few guys from our program and they had to guide us along those two short blocks. A funny, albeit embarrassing moment, and proof that my brain is sleep deprived.

I saw the funnest hot chocolate today. It is a brick of chocolate, a submarine, that sinks and melts in a mug of hot milk. Un submarino.

Tonight's the first time I have to do homework since early May. I can't complain. The nerd in me is positively stoked actually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.