a_new_year

By anewyear

Bleak 2...

'...The House Where Nobody Lives'

This is my second blip in this style because I quite liked the effect that last night's experiment with high contrast B&W yeilded (Thanks to Joesblips for the encouragement to keep experimenting).

This is a house (on the old Innocent Railway) very close to our flat which is abandoned and always reminds me of the Tom Waits song 'The House Where Nobody Lives'. This is reason enough to want to photograph it, but I also thought that it would make a nice shot to experiment more with the high contrast B&W style. It turns out that the more interesting parts (as per yesterday's blip) are the trees in the wind and the way they cast shadows with the streetlights; this leads me to think that the movement is one of the things I like about this type of image and that it is something I should try to include rather than avoid. I tried a few with the camera resting on a wall and on the ground but this just gave a nice sharp black and white image which I was pleased with, but not what I was trying to get!

I think I will continue to experiment with this type of image over the next few nights - unless something particularly cool crops up that is more worthy of blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.