a_new_year

By anewyear

Bleak

I have been looking at high-contrast black and white pictures over the last couple of days and really liked the drama that the style gives; therefore, I thought I'd try some of my own.

This was taken on Jawbone Walk in the Meadows (Edinburgh) tonight which was actually quite bleak and windy. Again, not having a tripod was a wee bit of a problem as it was hard to rest the camera on the fence and keep it still enough for the longer exposure. That aside, I like how it has caught the trees moving in the wind and the resultant shadows they have cast on the ground in the streetlights. It is definitely becoming Autumn!!

Not perfect at all (!) but I quite like the feel of this type of image and I will be better when I get a tripod! I will keep working on these night shots as I really like the effect of the artificial lights and the way they are captured as a result of the longer exposure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.