Rhys' Blipfoto Journal

By rhyssmith

My first blip

I'm spending a lot of my time of late travelling and seeing and doing interesting things for both Cardiff University and JANET(UK) so keeping a photo journal seems like an obvious thing to do. When I'm out of the office I'll post a photo (possibly) relevant to where I am; when I'm not it'll be something nicely random. All interspersed with both work and personal thoughts.

So, today. Visited UCAS in Cheltenham with some colleagues from JISC and BECTA, where we started exploring where FAM and SIF could work with them. Federated login to UCAS systems with school credentials? Federated login to university systems with UCAS credentials? Automated standards-based provisioning of student information from school -> UCAS -> university? Lots of interesting possibilities. And very relevant in today's environment - shared services and data sharing as a means to real world cost savings, and also giving a better experience for users. The meeting was just a first exploratory step - but all interesting journeys have to begin with a first step...

The photo? Went to Cheltenham on my bike, and rode back along a more scenic route than the motorway - with tintern abbey en route, where I stopped for a few minutes to stretch my legs. Couldn't resist taking the photo - and using HDR courtesy of iOS 4.1 on my iPhone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.