Rhys' Blipfoto Journal

By rhyssmith

Where the magic happens...

One of those rare days where I actually spent the day in the office! As usual, spent most of it catching up with paperwork - mostly expense claims... But also giving a response to a business case assessment of "eduID".

The idea behind eduID is to rationalise the user interface experience of using federated access by introducing a common "branding" experience for the process. Until more fundamental, long term, changes come along (for example project moonshot), this seems like a relatively easy to implement (that is if you ignore political considerations) step forward that should make the federated process more consistent for users in the academic world. I'm a fan - I recommended the idea in the JISC funded Service Provider Interface Study that I wrote a while back.

The problem I've had today is that completing this response has involved filling out a spreadsheet sufficiently complicated that I think part of my brain has been seriously injured in the process. I'm considering calling claims direct.

The photo - my desk in the office, obviously. Note the focal point of the whole desk is the cup of tea in pride of place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.