RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Aftermath

Yesterday was a busy work day, so I ignored the sirens that started up around 8:30 AM. I changed out a couple of light fixtures and did some other odd jobs around the unit. When I went out front a couple of hours later to shovel some rocks, I noticed a huge plume of black smoke just down the block from our complex. It turns out an empty Mexican restaurant was burning very vigorously, less than a half mile from our current home. Of course, by now everything was cordoned off and there was no way to get close enough to take photos.

I finally got to the site today and was stuck by the total devastation of the former restaurant. It must have been quite the fire. I liked how this photo juxtaposes the still living california icon palm trees with the now dead remnants of the building. I imagine, however, had I left the unit when I first heard the sirens I would have had a much different photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.