Summer returns to Seapoint

In to town for 10.30 to hand over artwork for the magazine, then down the street to do the same for the wedding jobs.

From there it was on to Dún Laoghaire and the optician in the shopping centre there (stopping off at Seapoint to marvel at the return of the Indian Summer). I'd spent a small fortune on a pair of glass a while ago, but haven't wore them in almost two years because one of the nose pads snapped off. My usual procrastination tendency kicked in big time when it came to doing anything about getting them fixed, and I regularly threatened to bring the glasses with me 'the next time' I went over to Carl's place. Today was the day! First word wasn't too good, since Joe the Optician wasn't sure if a repair job could be done. A possible alternative would be to fit the lenses into new frames, but he wasn't sure if he had anything suitable. We left it that he'd send the glasses on to a technician and would contact me when he had word as to 'the best possible option' to take.

I explained about going on holiday on Sunday and Joe promised to do his best to sort me out in time. True to his word, I was barely out of the car park when I got a voice message saying he'd found frames which might work and for me to come back if I was still in the area. So from one car park I went into another, and went back. Sure enough, the replacement frames were fine, my lenses got switched over, and Joe even 'did a deal' on price. So, after all the time I've been struggling on wearing a spare pair with out-of-day lenses, I was all sorted within thirty minutes.

Back home for lunch then, after which ti was time for another repair job. My car developed problems with the electric front windows, first on the driver's side and then, on Sunday, on the passenger side as well. The second problem was more urgent because while the driver's window wouldn't come down, the passenger's wouldn't go up, and I was left with that window partly open (not a good thing in the recent rainy conditions. So over I went to the Renault place in Liffey Valley and left the car with them. They can't get round to it until Thursday at the earliest, but at least it'll be under cover now if wet weather returns.

By the time I got back home after two bus journeys it was 5.15 and suddenly I felt really, really tired. It's now 10.40 and I'm not long back out of bed after a refreshing nap. A busy, but somewhat productive day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.