The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Thoughts upon supping some Porter

As an antidote to the Popish frenzy in the press, (actually I'm beginning to feel sorry for the old dear - our sex obsessed media seem to think that it's about gay marriages, women priests, child sex abuse, HIV and condoms - whatever happened to Heaven and Hell and all that everlasting stuff?) I took myself in to the small but excellent exhibition in the National Library of Scotland on the 450th anniversary of the Reformation. There's sense fer yers!
Enough of that. Had an excellent pot of tea at lunchtime which led to a discussion about its introduction. Apparently Thomas Garway, as early as 1657 touted its virtues as "making the body active and lusty", and "preserving perfect health until extreme old age".
Rather like the excellent Orkney Porter I supped with some blippers in the Bow Bar (above) later in the evening, then. I hope....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.