storyquine's snaps

By storyquine

The Birch

Yes, folks, it IS a birch rod bundle. Used in the punishment of juveniles since June 1897.

This is an artefact from my job - I look after the Grampian Police Force Museum collection. I was taking photos of this today as the Fraserburgh Heritage Centre wanted copies, as this birch belonged to the Fraserburgh court! I spent all of Doors Open Day telling visitors to Force Headquarters about prison keys, two very nasty historical murders and why you should never cheek your neighbours. The birch is coming next year! Yet most of my younger visitors LOVED the gory tales of long ago. I was amused by the mother who was more worried about her kids hearing the stories than they were!

But just as they say on Crimewatch - these things do not happen very often, so don't have nightmares! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.