Canvas

By snehith

Story of the Ignored lampshade

Tired and Old I stand on the wall. I never see the sunlight nor do I see the rain. All I see is a blank wall behind my back and a row of cupboards in front of me. They move below me, day in and day night, but never once do they look up to me. I feel like shouting that I am here, right on top, and that I was once their choice , though I came into the house as a gift, with my twin brother. My twin is long gone though, broken and tattered, thanks to this young man writing the blip, who got a little overboard while playing cricket at home.

It was a terrible ending, and worse, my twin was at his peak days at that time. He was the in the living room near the main door, and that meant he had lot more variety to look upon and was glowing most of the times. Me being at the corner near the bedroom seldom get a chance to glow. Worse, I do not remember myself being put on most of the times. I have seen the kids and the old glow within me, and CFL was a nice guy, and yes the bedlamps are always dull, but the bulb was the hottest of the lot. He had something in him that kept him bright always, they say it was the gas inside him, though I wonder how someone can glow with so much gas inside !

Well, Life hasn?t always been bad. But there were times where I had to spend time in the dark attic with wires around me that were either broken or too short to be of danger to my body. But the hard utensils were always a pain, and it difficult times were when we heard them open the attic door to search for something, and they would move the bag so violently that we inside had to search for rehabilitation inside the bag many a times. These humans, I tell you !

But thanks to the young man who killed my twin brother,I found myself up on the wall again. Though I am seldom used these days, thanks to that young CFL turk who hangs out in free air at an angle that is so very convenient at his age and for his holder. The dwarf holders have always been like that. Anyways, if you happen to read this, please tell the young man to dust me and remove those webs off me. I have dust allergy to my name, and I hate being so untidy for a long time. I hope they understand that unless they clean me up, they would not be able to solve the mystery as to why 5 bulbs have either passed away mysteriously, or have been burnt beyond recognition in the past few weeks. Psst. That?s a secret. Keep it.

Oh wait, he is coming to switch me off now. *poof*


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.