sp33dway

By sp33dway

A Bridge Not Far

Part of my short 20 min drive to work takes in a trundle over Holt Bridge and until earlier this year I never gave it much thought. That is, until my sis-in-law and her hubby came to stay during the summer.

We've since found out it was the scene of a terrible bloodbath during the civil war, not to mention the location of several ill-fated mishaps.

Still - it's a beautiful bridge that spans the river Dee, built from red grosvenor stone, joining the Welsh village of Holt to the English village of Farndon - and it hasn't changed all that much over the years, save for a one-way traffic light and the odd splodge of flattened chewing gum.

Without a pic to compare it to you may not be able to tell that the river burst it's banks this morning, although I'm sure there'll be more to see tomorrow (or less, if you catch my drift)

[edit - 2 days later the water level had risen to just above the arches, totally submerging the spot where I was standing to take this pick]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.