No Drama Here

By Laffingnomi

Taken for Granted

I posted a letter in this pillar box which stands at the entrance to our Village School on my way to collect the boys. As we left, I looked over my shoulder at it and said to the boys 'oh! Today's blip' got my camera out of my pocket and took three photos of it (much to the Lollipop lady's disgust as I was in her way!)-(aha-I might blip her, lollipop stick and all tomorrow !).

I was then prompted to research the pillar box because it is square and found out that (per Wikipedia) in 1974 the Post Office experimented with a rectangular design known as Type G. This was made in traditional cast iron by the foundry of Carron Company in Stirling, Scotland. It was an operational success, but the public disliked the "square" designs and petitioned the Post Office for a return to cylindrical boxes.
Atop the box is a commerative crest for Queen Elizabeth II's Silver Jubilee.

Just goes to show we are surrounded by treasures we we take for granted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.