What triggers your blips?

Doing the usual household chores this morning, I heard the "garbage truck" grinding and banging its way around the block. Our trash containers were sitting out on the curb, as were our neighbors', so I wasn't concerned about missing the collection, but the distinctive sounds of the truck and the banging of the cans triggered a memory of many years ago when our preschool-aged grandson was living with us. Trash day was one of his favorite events. Wherever he was in the house and whatever he was doing, when he heard those noises, he ran to the front window so he wouldn't miss the excitement. It was quite possibly one of the highlights of his week.

What is it about little boys and trucks? Fire trucks, milk trucks, garbage trucks...it doesn't seem to matter. They all hold some kind of fascination for little boys. Is it just little boys? I don't remember my daughters and granddaughters having a "Pavlov's dog" kind of reaction to the sound and sight of trucks. There are no more little boys around my house these days. The youngest grandson is 14, and the boy mentioned above is 23 and currently living in Australia, but isn't it funny that this memory was triggered by the sound of the garbage truck making its weekly trip around the block? And when I heard it, I thought BLIP!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.