When up is down #2

The rain pounded on the roof and the wind howled through the trees and the fence. The house shook with aftershocks and wind. Cousteau, curled up by my side, whimpered from time to time, his whole body shivering. With fear? With cold? Chasing rabbits in his dreams?

A restless sleep ensued but finally we both drifted off to the land of nod where we managed to grab snatches of fitful sleep.

The alarm on my phone rudely awoke us at 6 am, it's ungainly screeching breaking our dark slumber. Eyes firmly closed, I reached out and grasped the offending instrument, pressing any button which would silence its screams.

Rest followed. My body relaxing. Relishing the warmth around me and the gentle breathing of my faithful friend.

Of course, it meant that I overslept but fortunately a mate sent me a text which once again awoke me from my reverie.

So, I've been tired and cranky for the most part today. Making silly jokes that no one else finds funny. Unless they're tired too, of course, that always helps.

This view met me when I opened the curtains at about 6.45 this morning. A momentary respite in the otherwise inclement precipitous weather.

I kind of feel as if I'm looking up through water when I flip it this way. It's not overly easy to look at but somehow it suits my mood today and I like it.

Amazing colours and light, the deck slick with the recent downpour. And then grey, grey and more grey.

Looking out of the window of my small office now, I see that the sun has deigned to show her face again. Fingers crossed it will remain dry for our evening constitutional. A few less bed quiverers would be good tonight too if the ground wouldn't mind just staying put for a few hours. Once I'm asleep, unless they're biggies, I tend not to wake up. Just til I fall asleep! Please ...!

Later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.