The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Across the Kent to Low Foulshaw

A beautiful morning, tranquill with clouds only to the north. I took a lot of shots from Arnside Pier towards the viaduct, of birds feeding in a pool at the edge of the marsh, and of views down the estuary towards Morecambe Bay. When there is time, if there is such a time, I will load some up elsewhere. In the meantime, there is just one here.

I went on towards Sandside where yesterday's blip of the common gulls was taken. There were no gull flocks today, just scattered individuals (including just one in this blip). We are on neap tides now, and the high level mudflats are drying out and becoming more sandy coloured than when wet. There are also colour variations depending on the level of the mudflat, and the colours are particularly strong in the low light of morning.

The view is across the Kent estuary from the road along the Storth front, looking towards Low Foulshaw farm. This photo is exactly as taken, after much deliberation I felt that I would have lost something if I had cropped any part of it and I have not enhanced it any way. To me it has an other wordly feel. Photos are selective of course in what they provide to our senses. The reality was that the peace of morning was disturbed by passing cars and the shouts and laughter of the children waiting for the school bus 100 metres away.

Since starting blipping I have become much more aware of the colours and textures of the mudflats in the estuary. We have several paintings from Morecambe Bay by local artist Fiona Clucas. In these art works she has captured some of these colours and textures together with the beautiful light of this coastal environment. And although I have always loved these paintings, they are all the more special now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.