Every Little Step

By moonfairy

An anniversary of sorts.

Todays blip is one of the models my son makes when he is feeling well enough.

And the anniversary.

It's 2 years ago today, when my son Christian, was diagnosed with liver, lung and bowel cancer he was 26. It was at stage IV, incurable and we were told he had 3 months to live.

To say we were devastated is putting it mildly. How could our son who had never been ill suddenly be dying. He hadn't appeared to be ill, he just said he felt a bit unwell. Next thing we were ringing for an ambulance, and he was in hospital having emergency surgery.

In the following 2 years he has been in and out of hospital, 3 times he's been close to death, but I've always refused to tell him and he's pulled through. At one time we spent 24 hours in emergency as he was too ill to be moved to a ward.

The fact that he is still alive, is due to the wonderful ambulance service, the dedication of the hospital staff, our kind GP, and my sister and her husband who have dropped everything no matter what time it was to be at our side to help us.

3months after Christian was diagnosed, our daughter Alexandra who at the time was 24 was diagnosed with possible breast cancer, luckily this turned out to be benign. But at Christmas 2008 I had one child in the local hospital and the other in an hospital 45kms away.

If it hadn't been for my sister and her husband, I don't know what we would have done, as they did all the running around with my daughter.

Somedays I still can't believe all this has happened, neither of my children had ever done anything wrong, they didn't smoke, drink or do drugs.

To me they had always been the perfect children.

But we will fight on, because I'm just not prepared to let Christian go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.