D77

By D77

Satellites and Minarets

Larissa had to work today, leaving me to my own devices. I jumped in a taxi trying to get to Al-Azhar Park, but ended up instead at the corner of Al-Azhar and Al-Muiz street, near the famous Khan-El-Khalili market. I'm not a big fan of that part of Cairo (it's a bit in your face) and so after a friendly bit of banter with the Tourist Police (seriously) I just jumped in another taxi to where I originally wanted to go.

The park itself was a little bit busier than during Eid, but still very enjoyable with the same relaxed atmosphere prevalent. I read that the park used to be a massive rubbish dump before it was transformed into the idyllic haven it is now.

I've always seen it written that midday isn't really the best time to take photos due to the harsh light. However, one of the best tips I've ever seen on blipfoto was this one about the 'Sunny 16' rule, where you basically just stick the camera on ISO 100 and use f/16 with 1/100" and marvel at how well your camera exposes bright sunny scenes.

I find it works a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.