BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Valerie In The Gallery

I bumped into Valerie
in the gallery
she was busy looking
at the art.

Taking advantage
(like me)
of the free entry.
The free art.

Then along came Penny
and I think
we all had the same thought.
I said, 'Isn't it great
this free art. It's not
costing us a penny is it Penny?'

Then we saw Art.

When he appeared
it gave me a start.
He was looking dishevelled.
Down at heel.
In need of a good meal.

'Good to see you Arthur.
Fancy half a pint
and some peanuts?'
I said (generous as ever).
'Your round.'

But he reckoned he'd no money.

So I said fine, forget it
and apologised verbally to Valerie
for bumping into her
in the gallery
('No harm done,' she said)
and left right
then.

Then
I saw Ben
and said, 'Where
have you been,
Ben?'


Poem copyright Bernard Young
Artwork 'I Didn't Light the Fire' copyright Jilly Boel

Note: The above poem is or is not based on true events. Only the names have or have not been changed.

Note on Note: If you have read this far you may or may not have too much time on your hands.

Brought to you by Tongue in Cheek Productions

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.