Arctic-Mummy's Journal

By arcticmummy

Five O'Clock Shadow

This photograph was taken at 5.20pm. I had walked 22 miles and had 28 to go.

I was walking the Sussex Stride, 50 miles on the very hilly South Downs. It took me 18 hours and 47 minutes to complete the walk, which had to be done in 20 hours.

In the arctic, I will be walking 15 hour days, so this was great practice! I hope I don't suffer from blisters like I did on this walk!

I walked the South Downs Marathon in April this year. That event was very misty and foggy, so it was lovely to do much of the same walk and get the views this time.

Having completed this event under 20 hours I have now qualified to participate in the 100 miles walk, which is in Wales next year..... not sure I have the stamina to walk another 50 miles on top of what I completed today. I did however meet a number of individuals on this walk, who were significantly older than me, and had completed not just one 100 mile walker,but a number of them (13 in one case!!). So who knows :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.