The Family Heid...

You are the sum of your experiences and I believe that people can contribute to the person you are. Snippets of some peoples likes, dislikes, mannerisms and other wee things can get incorporated into your own persona and shape what you become. There are also others that you pass and interact with in life that don't shape you in any way but become part of your memory. I had two encounters on either side of that divide today.

One name and encounter popped up that I'd not thought about in about 20 years having been relegated to memory. Not unpleasant memories, just not significant impact.

On the other side of the coin is Heid here. I met Ritchie whilst working up in Arrochar about 15 years ago and even though I only worked up there for 3 years and he moved to Australia he has remained a constant in our lives. Ritchie imbued a love of music out-with what I'd been brought up with from school, we went to our first T in the Park together and he taught me the virtues of a Tonic wine from Devon.

Ritchie is over with his wife Nicola and the rather spiffing 7 month old Heid Junior in our damper climate for a few weeks so we popped up to my old stomping ground to pay wee visit.

Great to see yous again guys.


Oh and Ritchie taught me the greatest joke in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.