A time for everything

By turnx3

Birthplace of aviation

Sunday
Anyone who follows my journal probably think I've given up on Blip, and I have to admit I have days when I think of doing so, but for now I guess I'll continue. I returned from four weeks back in England a week ago today, and as usual the first week or so back is a bit of a struggle, and this year is particularly bad, as I left England's "green and pleasant land" to come back to the parched 'desert' of southern Ohio. After an extremely hot and dry summer, everything is so brown and desolate, and we're still experiencing temperatures in the mid 80s - significantly above normal for the time of year.

Well, enough of my depressed thoughts and on to today's blip. After church this morning and a meeting with our new bell-choir director, we came back home for lunch, then this afternoon we went out biking. I wanted a change from our usual Little Miami trail, so we drove up to Dayton and biked on the Great Miami trail and Mad River trail. In the center of Dayton you pass this statue of the Wright Flyer III. Dayton is officially the birthplace of aviation, though North Carolina likes to dispute that, since Orville and Wilbur Wright took the Wright Flyer for its famous test flight at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina. However, the Wright Brothers were born in Dayton, Ohio, and they did nearly all of their work on flight here, in the back of their bicycle shop, building wind tunnels and laying down the principles of aeronautics. Furthermore, the Wright brothers built and flew the first practical airplane at Huffman Prairie in Ohio. When we started out it was still pretty sunny, but as we progressed, the sun was overtaken by clouds, and the sky grew darker and darker, and I was convinced we would get soaked before we got back to the car. However, we made it back OK. We did pass through a short shower on our way home, but down here, things were as dry as ever.

I have back-blipped Friday and Saturday

One year ago: Kitesurfer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.