Moments

By togrrrl

Hey Old People....

Friday. A day in three acts and a picture for each act.

Act 1: Walking to the Subway

Everyday I take the same two block route to the subway and everyday I see something I have never seen before.

I decided to take a picture of some flowers which were back lit by the early morning sun. Then I notice a spider web and decide to take pictures of it. And then the spider comes out of its hiding place in the flower to mend its web. It crawls, stopping to back up and put a spot of silk here and there, meticulously tending to its home before it scurries back to safety.

The memory of that glimpse into its private world sustains me all day.

The spider applying silk


Act 2: Complexity Course


The last day of the course drags. Its obvious that the instructor has very little material to cover but he has to fill the day. He talks and talks and talks until it's late enough to let us go without looking like he's shirking his duties. What a waste of everyone's time. I think about my weekend. I doodle. I try to appear interested. It's still better than being in the office.

Morning light in the lunch room

Act 3: A night out

In the evening we go out to hear a band that a friend's son plays in. He's the drummer. I remember when he was a toddler and could barely walk. It's fun to go out and hear music! And the band is pretty good.

Afterward we talk with our friends in the parking lot. Some young people a few cars down yell out "Hey old people, want to smoke some weed?" I'm thinking, damn, do I really look that old? We decline. Maybe we are old!

Today's picture - the band, playing their hearts out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.