John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

On the way to Waterloo..

This is a piece of technology that I rarely use - because I know the way around my regular haunts perfectly well. But today, on the way to a place in Leith to discuss signage, I was totally stumped.

So I rummaged about to find the sat-nav which then refused to work until it had been charged for five minutes - evidence of long standing neglect.

The gentleman on the horse (not the bike) straight ahead is Field Marshal Arthur Wellesley, 1st Duke of Wellington, KG, KP, GCB, GCH, PC, FRS - or as he is known more frequently the Iron Duke. The most successful general Britain has ever had in terms of campaigns won. His politics were a bit out of fashion - but he kept going all the same.

During my Fresher's Week at Edinburgh (oh my goodness - 1966) some high spirits painted boot prints down from the horse, down the plinth, across the pavement in front of Register House (the big building behind), round the back to the Gents Public Convenience, and all the way back again.

The Duke of Wellington did manage to find his way - not simply to the loo and back - but also round Flanders, India, the Peninsula and France pretty well without a sat-nav! Amazing, isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.