Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Roxton

This morning on my way to work I called into the little lake at Roxton. It was quite warm so I was hopeful of seeing what could be the dragonflies last hurrah. Whereas the Common Darters can be seen well into October, there will be less opportunity to see other species from now on. My optimism was rewarded as there were several Migrant Hawkers on the wing, it was a brilliant sight but almost impossible to get a decent capture with only a limited time availible. I was able to get an image of a Common Darter which was basking in the autumn sunshine, also got some pictures of a Comma Butterfly that was doing the same. I then noticed this Robin sitting quite close by in the hedge, now I know I've blipped Robins before but I just couldn't resist this one today. As a footnote just as I was leaving for work I saw one of the Migrant Hawkers settle in the hedge too. I blasted off a few shots and dashed off to work now running late! On mornings such as these it's a real wrench to leave this little haven for the mundanity of work.

View Large

Alternative

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.