Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Shadows on Sydney Street

It was hard to find inspiration this morning. I guess the Monday morning feeling can still take hold even when you are not in gainful employment. I think a lot of it had to do with the results of the teams that I follow.

These days I seem to externalize my feelings of self worth to Stoke City, the Jacksonville Jaguars and the Dallas Cowboys. If they do well, I feel good. When they don't do well, I feel blah. I know it is crazy to let the fortunes of these teams dictate my mood but they do. I thought I had grown out of it but it appears things have come full circle.

I headed out this morning on my photographic safari with no real goal in mind and probably walked the wrong streets in terms of photographic opportunities or maybe I just wasn't as receptive to my surroundings.

I tried a retake of a shot from last week, which did not make it as a blip, but I just couldn't seem to get it right.

These strong shadows of a picket fence on Sydney Street did catch my eye. I am not totally happy with it. Something seems to be lacking but I cannot quite put my finger on it.

Anyway, it was the best shot our of four in contention. I was somewhat surprised when my wife chose it as her favourite, especially the B&W version.

Here's to something better tomorrow -- the everlasting day.

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.