surely you can see

By petergarver

Film November begins! (3 days after...)

This is the only frame that I shot on the 1st, so even though I kinda hate it, here it is. I was trying to reshoot a shot from my first roll of 120 that I really liked, but that was messed up because I changed the focus during the shot, not thinking that 4-element lenses change focal length when you focus them. This one managed to lose all of the soul and character that the original had, but wow - it certainly is sharp.

This was the first frame I scanned from this roll (which I developed myself - I took the first to Cleveland's surprisingly extant black and white lab), and the first results I've seen that really deliver the kind of great tonality and insane resolution and sharpness that I was hoping I would find in my return to film. So in a way, this is a happy shot.

I'm looking at a frame from November 2 right now, but there are four more sitting in the camera (with 7 frames left to expose), so I'll wait and choose when I get those developed. Maybe tomorrow if I get prolific!

Oh btw - dogwoodpuddle asked how I will be posting from film. I just received (yesterday morning) an Epson 4490 scanner, capable of handling 35mm film (poorly) and medium format film (barely adequately). I have an old 35mm film scanner which gets everything out of 35mm film that is there (but I might not bother to plug it in - I'll mostly be using 120 this month).

The scanner was "refurbished" and on Epson's website for $109 with free shipping, but for some reason the day I bought it everything on the site was 10% off, so I paid $98 for it. Not bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.