Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Corbridge graveyard

I went to Corbridge today for a dental check up, only to find there had been a mistake and I was down for tomorrow. I always walk on Wednesdays, so I think the mistake may not have been mine. Never mind, "in the greater scheme of things" just a minor irritation.

I had the camera so I wandered around the centre of Corbridge and then became fasinated by the memorials on the graves. This one reads "Here lies William Noble of Corbridge who died Mayy (sic) 4th 1764 aged 86 years"

I was intrigued by the bones and the face (?the sun) on the stone.

Many other stones showed evidence of early death for many.

The light was quite soft and the lichens and algae showed up well, colouring the stones.

(Managed a little retail therapy with a pair of trousers too!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.