My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

Mystery House.

I went for a walk on Sunday and caught this house in a photo at last.

I used to work in a gallery opposite it and occasionally saw an old woman walking in and out, or waving her stick at some man who was slashing at the greenery in the garden.
On boring days I used to wonder what it was like inside. I suspected it was untouched and fascinating.

I mentioned it on Monday on the morning walk, and was told that the old girl had died. The place looks like it should be frozen as a display of past life. I gather she had not changed anything for years, and that it was like a miniature Calke Abbey. She lived a solitary life entertaining no one, and following no fashions.
As ever my snooping at old places instinct is going wild. I do hope it wont be 'Done Up'...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.