Arachnophobia No More

I really did use to have a proper fear of these beasties, ask anyone who knows me, they'll tell you.

But tonight, admittedly with heart thumping, I chose this specimen from the many that have taken over the various bushes and plants in the garden, and gently removed it from its web to take a few photographs. And a truly professional model she turned out to be. She sat curled up protecting herself for a bit then eventually stretched out her spiky limbs to have a multi-eyed peek at the big poor-man's macro lens pointed straight in her face. Didn't even flinch as the flash went off either.

When the job was done, she signed off on the model release form and I placed her gently back on her web. Seems I needn't have bothered being careful not to wreck the web as apparently they eat the whole thing at night (munching all the flies that have become trapped in it during the day) then build a complete new one in the morning. They also DO bite - if provoked enough - but it's harmless to humans. Still, had I known that before I embarked on my personal mission to overcome my fear of spiders I might have been less keen on picking up the biggest one I could find.

Go on, don't be a big fearty-cat like I used to, have closer look...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.