Jottings from the web

By Ariadnesweb

Cheaper by the Dozen

Driving to and from work , I pass an organic farm producing beef, chicken and eggs, and its honesty hut.

Inside the honesty hut is a deep freeze with packets of meat, a fridge with fresh meat and a table top laid out with eggs, sometimes vegetables and a cash box. There is also a CCTV to ensure that honesty is the name of the game!

I buy all my eggs here. They are their 'seconds' and they are organic, wonkily-shaped, varying in size and occasionally soiled, but they are invariably fresh and very good! They are also priced at £1.20 a dozen. At that price, I can afford to be generous and will prepare scrambled eggs, hollandaise sauces and cakes with aplomb! I have an egg and toast for breakfast every day.

This photo shows today's table top offering.

I was able to sort out a couple of things making me anxious and today, instead of listening to Classic FM to relax on my way home from school, I played Handel's "Hallelujah Chorus" very loudly - and sang along lustily - thank God no-one was there to hear me. Wonderful, wonderful music!


"...King of kings, forever and ever,
And Lord of lords,
Hallelujah! Hallelujah!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.