Mark Mayo, photographer

By marksmayo

Where there's smoke, there's me

A great night last night which unfortunately meant I didn't take my camera out with me on the town. There were certainly a few opportunities.

Traditionally I've always done Guy Fawkes, whether it's a massive box or two with s2, or lighting meths with titanium. Or good old sparkler bombs... :) The rockets(?) are VERY loud over here - I've had a couple of good frights. But I decided this evening to produce some smoke and fire myself :)

So....today I decided to finally try what I'd been gathering equipment for for several weeks to complete the set.

For those wondering, my background was a velvet curtain, although I still had some reflection I could get rid of that with curves and paintbrush quite easily. To produce the smoke I had to hunt around, but found a Chinese store that sold Moxa rolls. They do stink - or so I'm told (I can't smell squat) but they produce a perfect amount of smoke for this.

Moving things over the roll causes different waves and patterns, and while balancing all these things, a camera held in your teeth (ok not quite, but I had run out of hands) takes the photo. I took several and have ended up with 13 post-process shots which I'm really stoked with after 3 or so hours of work. I chose this one for its volume, variety and swirls.

Anyway, hope you like it. Comments and ratings really appreciated, as always. Thanks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.