Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

While you were sleeping

Callum is back at school. His newly 2 year old friend next to him in class, Little H, stands up from the chair upon which his diapered bottom has been sitting while the three little boys do computer time. Little H is all done. Next Callum stands up but does not leave the line of chairs, instead, taking up the seat vacated by Little H. It's been nicely warmed for him. He asks for me with a "Mum-mee", having no concept that I am but 2ft away behind the one way mirror as I sit in the observation room, remembering times when I would do the same for Reuben whilst Callum sat with me in the Baby Bjorn in this same, dark and secret place the children will never know. Computer time is over and Callum looks unhappy, yet it is but a momentary phase that will pass, for as sure as his feet hit the ground to stand, he spots a thrilling toy and his eyes light up. I can't see the toy that has excited him so and I never will know what it is that has him so excited, nor indeed the teachers so excited to see his face light up so. It reminds me again of yesterday's hidden world in the garden.

I find Reuben asleep upon my return, just like this, in peaceful slumber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.