This Reeling Day

By kkaulakh

El Puente de la Mujer

First off, my sincerest apologies to my dad, whose birthday I forgot to mention in yesterday's blog. Sorry!! I hope you got the message from mom, since I sent one through her by phone. Happy belated!

***

This is El Puente de la Mujer, the Bridge of the Woman. Its design was inspired by the tango dance, the 40 meter mast symbolizing the man and the curving platform the woman. The bridge was built in Spain and then brought to Puerto Madero, one of Buenos Aires' newest and most modern barrios. Every street there is named after a woman. It's a constant homage to us girlies.

It dawned on me that I'm going to have to start some serious and conscious rationing of my pesos if I'm gonna last. I didn't spend a single peso today! And I even got to enjoy a free, live cover of Pink Floyd's Comfortably Numb in the street!

I have some cool activities coming up. A Fellini film tomorrow, a visit to a Gaucho estancia on Friday followed by live tango, and then a one night camping trip in El Tigre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.