Nicola Picola

By nicolapicola

Almost there...

It's been a stressful year to say the least. I landed a new job in Bristol back in March which was fantastic news, but it also closed a very happy chapter of my life as I left the family home, most probably for good.

Before starting, I was set to go to Prague with my best friend Kat. A break was exactly what was needed before embarking upon a new challenge.

But then we got the news about my dad's heart. Prague was cancelled and mum and I spent the weeks praying he would be OK.

For the two weeks he was in hospital, I missed him dearly. All I cared about was spending time with him before I left. But as he was released from hospital on the Sunday, I just about had time to kiss him goodbye, get in my little blue car, and set up my new home ready for my new job the very next day.

Then it was right back to the grindstone for another five months.

Now, I finally have a wonderful week off... for my birthday! (I keep forgetting that)

I have packed my case and am heading back to Birmingham tomorrow to see the folks before boarding a plane to Amsterdam with the boyfriend on Sunday.

Honestly, I can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.