Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Get Outta Here!

It's half-past midnight here in Albuquerque. I was just about to hop into bed when I saw this beautiful creepy-crawly in the bathroom. Beautiful it might have been, but I wouldn't sleep a wink knowing it was there - those mandible thingys at the rear had me worried - and it was huge - about six inches long!
So, shoes & shorts on (I didn't want to scare the natives, and besides, where would I have put my room key?), laminate sign to scoop it into the bin then a quick trip downstairs to let it loose in the shrubbery. We can both sleep soundly now. I hope it doesn't have any mates.

I've Googled to find out what it's called. It's the Desert Tiger Centipede. The scary looking things at the back are part of a "pseudo head" designed to confuse predators. It's not venemous but it bites. Phew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.