Adda

By Adda

old city

Shades is in town and hence a morning photowalk was customary. With Blip alongside us, it was a small blipmeet. Pixel Art was out of town and Photoframes had some stuff to take care of. We went to the old city - after a long time. Today the trip was more about spending some time together than photography itself. We got into the mosque and I made myself comfortable on the stairs leading to the shrine. Light was very good and as usual, there was lot of activity (read pigeon feeding) in the courtyard. Shades was not allowed inside as her head was not covered and Blip was asked to leave the premises for reasons best known to the 'authorities'. The mosque is a strange place. One can never be sure of whether bags/cameras/people will be allowed inside or not. Lately, they have been more consistent in not allowing bags beyond the main gate, quoting security reasons. For many, especially those who come alone, it is difficult to leave the bags outside in case they wish to visit the shrine. Backpacks of photographers is a strict no-no. I, with my small bag generally don't have a problem but one can never be sure. Though these restrictions are mostly unreasonable beyond reason and cause more trouble than security to people, I generally do not mind these restrictions in old parts of cities. I think that they add more character to the place.

As I was roaming around with my camera outside the mosque, an old Muslim gentleman with unmistakable long grey beard walked up to me and asked for some money for food. I said - "not now" (don't know what made me say that). He replied back - "If not now, then when? This is the morning time and I need to have some breakfast." I realized that I had spoken stupid and kept quiet. He kept going, pointing towards Charminar and the mosque - "the muslim emperors who ruled this area years ago, made these two monuments which have become pride of Hyderabad now. People come from so far away to see these places. The kings in olden days used to think and make things for the public. These days, everybody is worried about just his own pockets. The officials today are busy making money out of public projects..." Though the conversation was totally out of context but looking at the state of things going on with the Commonwealth Games organization, the remark seemed very apt. Interestingly, he said he is from Kashmir but he is in Hyderabad in search of food and money. When I asked whether he tried looking for some work in the local shops, he smartly brushed the question aside. :)

big kid :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.