My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

Wantitis.

I had to escape sports commentary this afternoon, so I went for a stroll in the town.
One of my favourite shops is Staniland Booksellers on the high street. I had been in earlier this week and had seen a pair of beautiful Moth books. They, like the Greenhouse (shocking want) made me wish I could buy/have. What books! The pair are £600.
I asked the owner if I may take some photographs as I have a Moth friend who would love them. They are not so worried about book bindings etc, but would love the Moth illustrations, and these are outstanding.

I think the caterpillar was well post mortum when it was drawn. It's characteristic Hawks Moth tail is drooping, and the head looks the worst for wear, it is as though the artist has guessed it's shape, but they are wonderful vibrant plates. I hope my friend buys them so I can spend ages looking at this work.


I had an old relation who showed me a silmilar book, which had been hand coloured. He sheepishly showed me one of the moths which had a huge smudge of colour from its wing, spread all across the page. He had been 'testing' the hand painted bit. I gather he had a thorough hiding for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.