My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

Dull photo but riveting story.

I took this photo of the new Farmer's Market they have started in the square, bought some honey, and went for a stroll. In the background you will see the tall hotel, The Falcon.
The sunny streets were nicely filled with people grabbing some last sun.
I bumped into one of my favourite chatters and she told me that The Falcon had been shut for days ( I had not noticed), as the manager (owner?) had done a spectacular runner.

She then messaged me the details. It turns out he loaded a van with all the furniute he could fit, the cookers, and the switchboard, and then went on a smashing session. Glasses etc. A vast toddler tantrum by the sound of it.

Uppingham can get a bit frustrating at times for people making a living, but this is a powerful exit.
Maybe it is this which started his decline. The trade across the board has been hit very badly since they upped the parking charges and sent the SS in in force to catch shoppers and diners/drinkers.

I will no doubt hear more. The joy of small town life is the odd update... Oh, OK, a healthy grapevine... I will keep you posted. It might be even more passionate. Who knows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.