Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

It isn't working...

Batteries charged? Check!
Memory cards empty? Check!
Everything in the camera bag? Check!

Man, I was completely ready for the first ever meeting of the Urban Photo Collective (UPC) Groningen this morning. We were going to do some urban exploring and visit an abandoned building in Winsum. I would meet some interesting people and I would come home with hundreds of great shots and have a hard time selecting one for today's journal entry...

But then I pulled a muscle in my back, near my right shoulder. Just like that, when I was picking something up from the floor. I was still hopeful. It would go away quickly and I would still go to the UPC meeting. But it didn't. And I had to call Sven, the organizer of the UPC event, to tell that I couldn't make it...

In the afternoon Martine took the girls to visit their grandpa. They had a great time again with the ponies. In the meantime, I was laying on the couch trying not to make any movement that would cause pain in my back. I tried watching the Formula 1 race but somehow I only saw the warmup lap and then they were playing the Italian anthem because of a Ferrari victory. I must have dozed off somewhat :-)

After Martine and the girls returned home and we had dinner I wanted to get out. My back was feeling a bit better and I drove to the location of this thing you're looking at. It's a windmill on a pole, about three metres high I think. It's a funny thing: whenever the wind blows, the cyclist would appear to be cycling the unicycle. But it isn't working. You may be able to figure out why from the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.