Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Midgley Bridgely

I've been sat in some of the nicest scenery in the West, and failed to do it justice. In my defence, I've been pretty busy.

As we came into Sedona, I was very happy to see that someone had taken the trouble to attach two letters to the signs at Midgley Bridge, making it Midgley Bridgley.
(Oops. Should be Midgley BridgeLY!).


I don't know how long ago it was originally altered but it has always made me smile. The last time I came through, it was back to being plain old Midgely Bridge once more.

The bridge sign epitomises the character of Sedona for me: The fact that someone altered it in the first place and that they altered it again when more sensible (& dull) minds tried to prevail. All in the name of a corny pun.

Admirable!

The pic shows the Chapel of the Holy Cross, dwarfed by the rocks behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.