John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

Ville-d'Avray

Emergency blip today. Days come like that - the camera goes into the car in the morning, and suddenly it is 5 O'clock and you realise you haven't thought about it all day. So into front room....

would it be the Orchid that is lodging here while my mother is in hospital? Beautiful, but I'm not big on flowers.

But I do love this print of "Ville-d'Avray" by Jean-Baptiste-Camille Corot!

He painted this around 1867. He had a house at Ville-d'Avray which is a suburb of Paris, 7 Km west of the city centre. I've never gone looking - but may yet. Although I suspect that the scene is not so delightfully rural these days.

My taste in Art is pretty naive, I suspect. I like Italian Renaissance, Neo-Classical and French Impressionists. And Corot ticks the last two boxes. So I am happy to have this to look at when I take the notion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.