a_new_year

By anewyear

West Approach

OK - after a lot of positive comments about the high contrast processing (thanks!) I was thinking what would make a nice image in this style. Then I realised that light trails at night would probably work - especially if in a built up environment with other artificial light. Therefore, instead of finding a dark motorway in order to get the classic red/white light trails with no light pollution, I WANTED orange streetlights and reflective buildings and other up-lit structures which would create shadows and highlights etc.

This location, a footbridge over the west approach road in Edinburgh, came to mind immediately as it is surrounded by shiny buildings, has a great overhead view of a nice curved road and has an up-lit electricity sub-station. It was starting to rain while I was there which is a shame as a number of shots were marred by rain spots on the lens. I also turned around and shot from the other side of the bridge which also has a view of Edinburgh Castle but the shots were boring as this is a main junction (with Lothian Road) and the cars are stationary for the majority of the time.

I think that my suspicions about the type of light in this environment were right as I think it does work well in high contrast - even if this isn't the best shot in the world! I'm glad I experimented with this as I, personally(!), really like the effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.