a_new_year

By anewyear

St Leonard's Bank

This is not quite what I had in mind for today but an extension of the high-contrast shots that I'm trying to work on (see previous blips). I left Edinburgh at around 7am this morning for work and got home at around 10:30! Hence the blip was slightly more rushed than I hoped.

However, in many ways, I think I like this shot a bit better than last night's as there is less light in general which seems to contextualise the highlights, allowing the shadows to be more of a feature. Also, there were no moving lights so I could spend time getting a good shot of the natural glow from the streetlights.

Again, I think the low-down angle suits this type of 'nightscape' and that the detail in the road and the double yellow lines work nicely in the foreground. With this shot I reduced the saturation too which helps with the overall feel I think - however, I would be grateful of more informed opinion. I'm still working mostly by eye with just a little theory behind me.

I wish the cars weren't there though and that I had a DSLR and wide-angle lens so I could get more of the surroundings in and perhaps have a bit of that barrel distortion that I've seen a lot in this type of shot.

Hopefully my blip will be more exciting tomorrow although another hectic day lies ahead and my only time will be in the morning. Maybe I'll try some high-contrast daytime shots...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.