OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Ruin near Littlequoy

This is a ruined farm below The Ruff on west Burray. I walked over the causeway to Hunda, but the conditions were fierce with driving rain and a strong wind from the SW. Not really weather to get the camera out in. This was taken earlier when it wasn't too bad.

In the lea of Hunda I was sheltered somewhat from the wind, but the rain just came straight down. I watched gannets fishing just offshore. It reminded me of the lines on gannets...'Turning into the wind/ The wind turned/ Black and white winged.'

Trying to spot migrant birds was pretty impossible, though I saw a flock of what might have been bramblings, and I headed back to Burray village a bit earlier than planned. Walking into the elements I got thoroughly soaked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.