Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

How to be an explorer of the world

Perhaps we didn't get to explore very far today - just around the school grounds of a primary school in Cheadle, though my overall journey took me across the Woodhead Pass and over a wet and very murky Pennine landscape.

I'd been asked to lead a workshop session for primary geography teachers on `Learning outside the classroom' and I've been using a book by Keri Smith called `How to be an explorer of the world' as a starting point. There are lots of ideas for looking, exploring, noticing, creating, not all are geographically focused and I've been doing my bit to show how they all can be incorporated into a geographical view of the world.

As we were walking around the footpath on the edge of the field we came across these posters on display (part of the schools environmental work). They came as a surprise and I stopped to look and read - something I may not have done if they'd been displayed on a corridor wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.