Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

My Granddad

Today we celebrated the life of my granddad. Nearly everyone who loved him most and who could be here was here. He had asked that there be no funeral, no service and no fuss basically when he passed. But you can't prevent those who love you from gathering and enjoying just being family.

We spent the entire day at the home of my Granddad and Nayne. We ate, talked, cried and even rode his tractor. We just spent time basking in the love and memories.

This moment I've captured here, was such an incredible one for me. My father (in the background) is telling my Granddad's brother something very important. He is saying, "When I was young, there were only two people that were most important to me. My father was one, and you were the other." (notice the finger point directly at him?) My father spoke with such intensity and love. After that moment, my father came down from the tractor to let him take a ride for himself.

So even though there was nothing planned or formal, I think we celebrated my Granddad's life just like he would have wanted...as a family enjoying time at his home.

I would love to take the time (and will kick myself later) to write more about my Granddad and what he meant to me, but it's a bit too raw for me right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.