blip art :: xb

By xb

Mug's Game

...no, not a tale of a careless butcher. :)

There was a ping of an email at work this afternoon. It was Paddy Power letting me know I had £10 in my account. I don't remember setting up an account, and I've never even placed a bet, so I think I must have set up an account to enter a prize draw or something.

Anyway, the £10 was there to be used for betting, withdrawn or donated to charity. My logic said not to withdraw it, since I didn't know about it anyway, and not to give it away because I could win more and then give some away. So, bet it was.

Five small bets were placed. Crouch to score first for Spurs (he has a great Champions League record). Mata to score first for Valencia (tip from work colleague). Barcelona (1-0 down at the time) to win against Rubin. And, to add some spice to the Rangers game, a defeat for Rangers. To finish things off, a £1 accumulator to make the whole lot pay out £1400.

How nice of Paddy to give out free money to teach people that they know nothing about football, and should probably never bet on the beautiful game. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.