The Tenacious Tenderfoot

By oliver

Scrumping

The rain had ceased for a while today as my friend Josh and I were waiting for the bus to get to Leeds this afternoon (via train! I hadn't been on one for years...). Instead of pictures of the train tracks whilst waiting at the Interchange and Josh's rather blurry picture of me showing signs of discomfort (due to my newly found phobia of dark train tunnels)... I've instead opted to start my Blipfoto with a rather blurry, zoomed-in shot of this odd gentleman. I thought nothing of him, whilst on the way to the bus stop, except he's acting oddly.

Whilst there, said gentleman was crouched down, moved slightly to the left to reveal his big hiker-type bag, stuffing what I thought were rather large conkers in to his bag. We returned home an hour ago or so and got off a few stops earlier to investigate what they were, little did I realise the remaining few left on the wet grass indicated they were apples.

He was scrumping which is, in the words of Bill Bailey, "... basically fruit theft isn't it, dress it up in a nice West Country phrase if you like, but it's fruit larceny!"

I'm debating with myself as to whether I should telephone Crimestoppers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.